Skip to content

Will You Be a Woman I Can Grow Old With?

March 8, 2011

We’re delighted to have signed a contract with Literary Agent Terrie Wolf to represent Women I Want to Grow Old With, a book we’ve been writing for more than two years.  Our passion is to encourage women to be intentional about making and keeping friends throughout their lives.  This blog is designed to call women to take notice of and expand their circle of friends.

Our journey on this quest began when Diane took Margaret out to lunch to celebrate Margaret’s milestone birthday.  Birthdays often prompt us to take stock.  This birthday had caused Margaret to think about how and with whom she wanted to spend the ensuing decades of her life.  She began asking herself tough questions that some of us may have asked ourselves:  “Do I have any real friends?”  “What is a real friend anyway?”  She started worrying if someday she could be old and friendless.

“I knew I wanted the kind of friends who were committed to being with me, whether I was in the same trench with them or not,” says Margaret, a health and disease prevention advocate and consultant.  “I started purposefully asking women I knew to join me for coffee.  If in our conversations, I noticed a moment of mutual admiration and connection, I would ask them pointblank, ‘Will you be one of the women I grow old with?’”

When Margaret asked Diane that question, Diane said of course and then added, “That needs to be a book!”

As a published author and marketing communications leader, Diane saw the power and meaning in that question.  Plus friends are critically important to Diane.  She’s gone out of her way to maintain friendships even if she’s moved away – and then moved back!  She saw her younger sister, Karen,  lose her husband when she was only 43 and how critical a few close friends were to help her fill the gaping void.  And she witnessed her mother lose her father after 60 years of marriage and have virtually no friends left.  Diane believes that her mother died of a broken heart…something that having a few close and supportive friends couldn’t completely mend but absolutely could have helped.  The story of trying to make friends at 80 is the topic for another blog.

Our book and our blog are devoted to women of all ages who want to have friends for life!  Are you a woman who wants to add life to your years . . . and years to your life?  If so, join us!  Share your insights and stories about the value your friends bring you.  Tell us the crazy, fun, or poignant things you and your friends do to stay connected and supportive.  Make us laugh.  Allow us to cry.  Help us to see that woman-to-woman bonds are critically important to our health and happiness!

Share this blog with a few of your friends and tell then how much you care for them when you send the link!

We look forward to sharing more and, of course, to finding the right publisher to put our book in your hands.  Until then, we’ll blog with the hope that you’ll join the conversation about Women I Want to Grow Old With!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Noonie permalink
    March 9, 2011 11:02 am

    Congratulations, Diane and Margaret! I look forward to following your exciting journey and to (very gradually) growing old together!

  2. March 9, 2011 12:20 pm

    Congrats and good luck with your book. Pure awesomeness:)

  3. March 9, 2011 3:29 pm

    Hello, ladies. I am a writer who is also a client of the amazing Terrie Wolf. I’d like to wish you the best with this project which sounds truly terrific. As a woman who has experienced the many highs and lows associated with life, it has become increasingly evident to me that to have the consistent support of another person in this world is crucial. Over the past ten years I’ve been blessed to have forged several friendships that I value more than is possible to say. One woman in particular is my touchstone. Without her I truly could not imagine where I would be. We speak every day and she has enriched my life with her presence. I’m reminded of my favorite quote on this subject:
    “Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don’t worry…I’m here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you. “-Charlie Brown to Snoopy”
    Good luck to you both on the road to publication!

    • March 30, 2011 8:07 pm

      Love the Charlie Brown quote, Louise! Thank you!! Your touchstone friend sounds like the kind of woman we all want to grow old with! I’m sure you’re a treasure to her as well. Your daily commitment is fabulous!

  4. Carrie Filetti permalink
    March 9, 2011 7:08 pm

    Beautiful words! Thanks so much for sharing! When I was younger, I looked at older women and found a handful of true ladies. I admired these ladies and wondered what it was that made them different. It was simple, they were kind, delicate and full of charity. Never once did I hear them gossip or complain about a task ahead of them. They were always there for whoever needed them, always ready to serve. Now that I’m older and have dear friends of my own, I hope we are now those same kind of ladies I remember as a young girl. The kind of friends you can grow old with.

    • April 4, 2011 4:45 pm

      How inspiring, Carrie. “Pay It Forward” is the thinking here. What an amazing place to live life from. Miracles happen every day in that paradigm. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Ann H Tearle permalink
    March 10, 2011 1:17 pm

    Love this–have several ‘friends for life’ from long ago to present–i truly have valued, and do still, value their friendship and support through the good times and the bad. The world is definitely a better place because my dear friends are in it. Ann

  6. Loretta Escher permalink
    March 10, 2011 2:54 pm

    I’m at a place in my life where I realize how vitally important certain special friends have been to me in my life. Having just commemorated my 53rd year of marriage, I credit several friends with helping me through various phases of child rearing and marriage, and now miss such support (and all the hours of laughter spent with them).
    When people grow older, they change a lot (particularly males) and what matters to them and their basic behavior undergoes a lot of revision as well. Women can gain a perspective on this that softens the shock. I miss having that kind of friendship in my daily life deeply.

  7. conniejmartin permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:16 am

    My 7th grade art teacher required that we copy little sayings to learn calligraphy. My handwriting is sloppy to this day, but I still remember one saying (though not the author), and have often repeated it to my children during their journey through blooming and fading friendships:

    “Friends are like diamonds,
    Precious but rare.
    False friends are like autumn leaves
    Found everywhere.”

    I have no doubt but that your book will be a gem and a treasure, and that this blog will be sprinkled with diamonds!

    Your fellow author and friend through Terrie,

    CJ Martin

Leave a Reply

