Skip to content

Appreciation Is a Powerful Friendship Tool

June 17, 2011

Recently, a dear friend invited my husband and me to her home for Thai food. We were thrilled to accept, but quickly realized that we had family guests in town from England whom we were entertaining. We asked if our company could join us, and my friend responded with a generous “absolutely.”

The afternoon was a total expression of gracious friendship. The addition of a four year old and his parents to the luncheon was “seamless”. My Thai friend and her husband included them in a way that made us all feel at home. I was so thankful.

During the entire week that followed, I repeatedly thought of sending my friend and her husband a thank-you note. I was so present to my appreciation of them and their generosity towards my family, friends and me, but I kept noticing that the note didn’t get written and sent. I began to wonder why I wasn’t in action expressing myself. I saw all the things that were more important to me in the moment than sitting down and writing that note. I recognized the many things that “used” my life that became the excuses for why I could not take the time to express my gratitude and love. Seeing this has given me an opening to take deliberate action. With this thank-you note, my friend will know how much she means to me and the value I place on our friendship. What a gift to me and to her!

Please share the ways that you express your gratitude and appreciation to others? Feel free to share the places where you have good intentions but the actions do not follow.

–Margaret

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 2:12 pm

    Thank God for the kind of friends you are talking about. This is so important for women to be there for each other. I am glad we have each other to grow old with.

  2. June 21, 2011 7:24 am

    well said. In the end, what we truly value shows up in our actions.

    • June 25, 2011 6:59 am

      Toni,
      Thank you for adding to our conversation. We are so committed that women live healthy, vibrant and full lives throughout all of life. Your input adds to the momentum. Please share the blog and facebook page with all of the women you know.
      We appreciate you.
      Margaret

Leave a Reply

