Skip to content

Take In the Good

July 2, 2011

Take in the Good in Your Friendship Experiences

It’s so easy to dwell on the negative. Even if you are a half-full kind of person, you can’t help but notice at the same time that half of the glass is empty.  Over the years, I’ve trained myself to see what’s missing whether it’s in landscaping, a job or relationships. Sometimes, however, this habit can be really frustrating because I often find myself dwelling on the negative or worse yet, trying to fix everything.

Recently I have been focused on developing the practice of looking for good facts and turning them into good experiences.  In my friendships this has been especially rewarding. This morning I went to a local breakfast house with friends. Being with my friends was a “good fact”. The restaurant we chose was packed and required a thirty plus minute wait. Rather than trying to find a faster seating restaurant, we decided to stay and soak in the atmosphere of “anticipation” permeating both the inside and outside of the breakfast house. Just when we thought we couldn’t wait any longer, we’d go and check the status of our name on the waiting list. We delighted in being just 5 big parties away. Watching waitresses carry large plates, full of steaming breakfast foods, supported us in deciding what we’d order once seated.  Eventually the hostess offered us coffee while waiting for our table. With Styrofoam cups in hand, we circled again and began another series of conversations. Finally our name was called. We were seated at the perfect table where we continued our perfect breakfast experience.

It was so satisfying to turn a potentially frustrating situation into a good experience enjoyed by all. Looking for the good fact and turning it into a good experience is a practice I’ll continue to develop in my friendships.

Where have you and your friends enjoyed a “half-full” experience that became a joyous memory? These stories can be simple while helping all of us focus on the bigger picture and really enjoy the experience. Thank you in advance for sharing.

Margaret

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 4:17 pm

    Hi, Margaret,

    What a lovely story to share! I had a smilar “half-full’ experience this past week. I drove almost 200 miles round-trip for a prospective consulting assignment that I thought would be perfect for me. I was one of the candidates being considered. The interview was less than perfect, however. In fact, it ended 20 minutes early.

    However, because I was in the Los Angeles area, I was able to treat my friend Janet to lunch and spend some delightful time with her. I had not seen Janet in at least a year, so it was especially meaningful to catch up on all her news in person.

    LIfe is filled with such half-full moments, Margaret, and I thank you for bringing that fact to our attention. So often in our frenzied fast-track world, we forget to take time and smell the coffee.

    Sincerely,

    Pat

    • July 5, 2011 6:36 pm

      Pat, I think that we have angels who bring the right words into our lives at the exact time we need them. Thank you for sharing your experience with your friend in LA and for the acknowledgment of my blog as a catalyst for seizing the moment. Margaret

  2. July 7, 2011 2:35 pm

    Hi Margaret
    This is such a great story and reminds me that where ever we are when we are with our good women friends is a great place to be! Thanks for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

