Skip to content

Guest Blog: Multi-tasking Friendships

July 25, 2011
Women I Want to Grow Old With welcomes our first guest blogger, Paula Jhung (see bio below).  Paula will share insights on three friendship groups she belongs to and how each enriches her life in different ways.  Here’s her first of three entries.  Enjoy!

* * *

Part 1 of 3: Weekend Walkers

Like my mom before me, family comes first. But unlike Mom, who was too shy and time-strapped to cultivate the friends who could have filled her empty nest, friendship is my driving force. Since it’s a force that takes time and tending, I’ve managed, with a little help from my friends, to combine the people I love with the activities I need. Together, they keep body, brain, and soul in sync.

The first group is the “Weekend Walkers,” six women who hike the trails that weave through our horsey little town.  We start out at a trot as we  discuss the week’s events, then slow to a canter as we  become sounding boards for such conundrums as, “What to do about Mom?” and “Does this look like skin cancer?”  After an hour of aerobic conversation, we rein in at our mid-trail restaurant, where, fueled by food and coffee, we move to the fun stuff: upcoming movies, current reads, and hot new restaurants. This is my culture club and my group therapy — friends who can walk, talk, listen, and share.

Paula Jhung is the author of  Cleaning and the Meaning of   Life, How to Avoid Housework, and Guests Without Grief.  She has written articles for publications such as Family Circle,Woman’s Day, Cosmopolitan, House Beautiful, Home,  Bridal Guide, Woman’s World, Boston Herald, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Paula has appeared on HGTV, Bloomberg News Radio, Today in New York, and a gazillion other TV and radio shows across the U.S. and Canada.     

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 10:34 pm

    Paula, what a great commentary! Friends who can walk, talk, listen, and share…Who needs anything more?

  2. July 25, 2011 10:57 pm

    Hey Paula – You look great! Must be all that walking and sharing with friends. 🙂

    We just moved to small community on the Sacramento Delta, and I’m hoping to form some new friend groups. A walking group sounds perfect.

    Looking forward to the remainder of your guest blogs.

  3. Noonie Benford permalink
    July 27, 2011 6:08 am

    Hi Paula! Thank you for sharing your unique way of “hoofing it” with your girlfriends. You must be in fantatic shape and you really maintain a strong stable of friends. Very inspiring! All the Best, Noonie

  4. Noonie Benford permalink
    July 27, 2011 6:21 am

    Of course I mean fantastic shape … Never type before coffee …

  5. Amanda permalink
    July 28, 2011 10:28 am

    I love spending time with my best friend doing aerobic activity, too! My friend and I have been training together for our first 1/2 marathon run at Disney. Aside from getting in shape, we have been able to spend time together running and catching up. It’s a great opportunity to fuel both your emotional and physical needs!

    • August 3, 2011 5:56 pm

      Amanda, I love exercising with friends too. I find that when I’m moving and talking the sharing is so authentic. I always end up feeling closer in a very sisterly way.
      Margaret

  6. July 28, 2011 8:17 pm

    Such great responses to Paula from other inspiring women! Thanks for sharing. And, Amanda,so awesome you are running the half-marathon! Can’t wait to see you cross the finish line!! You are right that exercising with friends fuels mind, body and spirit!

  7. July 31, 2011 9:46 am

    I love this conversation about women and how our connections are so vital. I just saw the movie Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. This is a beautiful movie about female friendship in China. Excellent movie! A great story. And particularly wonderful in the telling of how in China, the life long bonds between women are important and totally different that between men and women. I highly recommend this movie. Great story as well as visually interesting.

    • August 1, 2011 7:48 pm

      Thank you, Annie! I need to see Snow Flower and the Secret Fan…sounds wonderful an oh so true…no matter what our culture or background. Appreciate your sharing.

    • August 3, 2011 5:58 pm

      This is about the third time this movie has shown up on my radar. Thank you Annie. Isn’t that just what women do? Share something of value with other women. What a blessing we are to each other. Margaret

Leave a Reply

