Skip to content

Guest Blog: The Power of Book-Loving Friends

August 1, 2011

Paula Jhung shares insights about a second group of  female friends who have helped to shape her life and bring her beloved connections in her series of three guest blogs:

The second group of women that feeds my mind and spirit is “The Readers” who form our book club. The 10 of us take turns choosing the book for the month ahead, then gather to discus and dissect it.

I love these women for their quiet introspection, but I seldom love their choices.  I gravitate to non-fiction and have long viewed contemporary fiction and certain other genres as a waste of time. However,  these friends, who have put up with my literary nit-picking for far too long, have gradually opened me to fiction and other genres that have, at times, consumed and delighted me.  The power of book loving friends can be awesome.

Many of the women we interviewed for Women I Want to Grow Old With love their book clubs.  If you belong to a book club or another group of women that meets regularly, please share what that group of friends adds to your life!

 


2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 5:51 pm

    Book clubs can be so much fun. I also love a Bible Study group. The conversations get to be very rich and impactful. Having stimulating discussion excites me. I have a passionate group of women that care about health and prevention of disease. Being with them and having a common desire to support and educate families in better nutrition is so fulfilling for me. It’s an area of real growth and development and passion. Margaret

  2. August 9, 2011 1:36 pm

    A couple of friends and I formed a book club back in 1995 — and it’s still going strong. A few members have come and gone, but the core group has been together for more than a decade. We meet once a month for discussion and goodies. We have a book exchange at Christmas and then choose the next year’s books from those titles. We’ve also traveled together as a group, taking over a B&B in Ashland, OR during the Shakespeare Festival, visiting Monterey after reading “Cannery Row,” and traveling to San Diego just to visit the area and enjoy each other’s company.

    Over the years, these women have provided me with friendship, intellectual stimulation, and most of all emotional support during life’s most challenging times. I really appreciate them and feel blessed to have shared so may good times with them.

Leave a Reply

