Skip to content

“TELL ME” – Words Every Mother Longs to Hear

May 13, 2012

Guest Blog by Kelley White

Kelley and daughter Aspen celebrate Mother’s Day!

“Tell me that I’m a good mom.” “That I’ve actually taught you something.” “That I’m ready.” “That you look up to me.” “Tell me you love spending time with me.” “That I’m doing this right… even if I’m doing it alone.” “Tell me you’re proud of who we are.” “Just tell me.” -Hallmark

These words caught my attention as I passed the living room at a relative’s house as a television commercial played in the background. Stopping mid-stride, I found myself hanging on every word these moms of every age were saying. It was a Hallmark commercial, but that was beside the point. Those precious words grabbed hold of my heart and spoke to me so powerfully. Why? Because I so perfectly identified with what these women were saying, and I’ll bet just about every mom out there can relate. Amidst caring for children, advancing our career, strengthening our marriages, running a household, building a business, or even parenting as a single, sometimes we just need to hear that we’re doing this “mother” thing right… even if we’re not perfect.

The year 2011 brought so many new and exciting changes to my life, and although the list is miles long, the highlight of the entire year was the birth of our daughter, Aspen Jade. She was a timely gift to me, arriving shortly before Mother’s Day. The first moment I held her in my arms, I remember thinking to myself, “This is it, Kelley. Your life will never be the same again.”

Although this is my second year celebrating the joy of motherhood, in some ways it feels like my first. Last Mother’s Day, I was healing from 26 hours of labor, caring for a newborn, and trying to make sense of the whirlwind my life turned into overnight. It was a special day for me, but I was far too preoccupied with the precious little girl I was now responsible for to pay much attention to it. Now that I have a full year under my belt, I feel that I’m finally able to appreciate and ponder the significance of this day and what it truly represents.

I’ve always believed that you don’t have to have biological children of your own to be a mother to someone. You can “mother” by nurturing, guiding, adopting, or even passing along wisdom to others. My own mother is an absolutely wonderful woman, and I appreciate our relationship more than words can say. But, if something were to happen to her today, tomorrow, or 40 years from now, I know there are other women who would step in and “mother” me in her place. No one could ever fill my mother’s shoes or her place in my heart, but I am blessed to have women around me who I know would be there for me in a heartbeat if I ever needed them.

This year, in the spirit of Mother’s Day, I’d like to present a challenge to every woman reading this. Whether or not you have children of your own, this challenge is for you: Take a minute or two and think about all the women in your life who have impacted and mothered you in some way. Be it a friend, mentor, relative, or sibling, write their name down on a piece of paper so you won’t forget it.

Now, I challenge you to take that list of names and over the next day or two, take just five minutes out of your day to let each of those women know how proud you are of who they are and how grateful you are for the impact they’ve had in your life. It doesn’t matter whether it’s a simple email, text, call, letter, or even a face-to-face visit…the challenge is to not let another day go by without telling them how much they’ve meant to you. All too often, we go through life assuming that those we love and admire know how much they’ve impacted our life, when so many of them are still hoping and praying that they are able to touch at least one heart in their lifetime.

This Mother’s Day weekend you have an opportunity to touch lives…and what a sweet moment it will be when you are able to be an answer to the prayers of the women who were an answer to yours.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Hill permalink
    May 13, 2012 2:18 pm

    What a wonderful article, filled with love and thoughtfulness. A challenge we all should accept, thank you Kelley!

  2. May 13, 2012 5:36 pm

    This matches so perfectly with the sermon that Pastor Jerry gave today, “Passing on the Torch” and the requirements to do and receive..Raising, training and loving each child to equip them to take that torch and that is how we nurture and raise each generation. It is so important to do it because if one generation fails to take that torch we have lost that closer connection to God and His ways. I am proud of your writing and sharing from your heart!

  3. Kathy White permalink
    May 13, 2012 8:29 pm

    Beautiful and timely words we all need to hear, you are wise beyond your year’s!

Leave a Reply

